Blueberry Gall Wasps, Part 3

Yesterday, after still more wasps had emerged from my three blueberry galls, I decided to take them outside and try to get some shots of them in a natural habitat rather than on the usual piece of white paper.  After I had finished with one and had let it go on its way (we were in a nice big patch of lowbush blueberry), I looked in the bag and saw that yet another wasp had appeared.  It occurred to me to inspect the galls closely and see if I could find a little face peeking out (I had just been admiring this series by Tom Murray).  Sure enough, I found one, and got to watch it chew its way out of the gall, which took a few minutes.  It was another of the eurytomid parasitoids–meaning that all three galls had been parasitized by these, although at least two of them had produced some Hemadas nubilipennis as well.

Wiping the gall crumbs from her face.

About Charley Eiseman

I am a freelance naturalist, endlessly fascinated by the interconnections of all the living and nonliving things around me. I am the lead author of Tracks & Sign of Insects and Other Invertebrates (Stackpole Books, 2010), and continue to collect photographs and information on this subject. These days I am especially drawn to galls, leaf mines, and other plant-insect interactions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blueberry Gall Wasps, Part 3

  1. Nice! I really like the second image.

  2. Awesome! I agree with Troy, the second image is spectacular.

Leave a Reply

