Arizona Oak Galls, Part 2

Gall #2 is a fancy cup-shaped one found on the undersides of leaves, sometimes in clusters.

IMG_7600
DSC_5788

A month after I collected them, the galls (kept in a tightly sealed vial) had become covered with mold, but a single wasp chewed its way out of one of them.  It was dusty and acting a little drunk when I found it.

IMG_9509

IMG_9489 To my eye, the host plant looks to be the same oak on which I found gall #1.  This time I remembered to get a shot of the buds as well as the leaves.

DSC_5775 DSC_5773 DSC_5774

About Charley Eiseman

I am a freelance naturalist, endlessly fascinated by the interconnections of all the living and nonliving things around me. I am the lead author of Tracks & Sign of Insects and Other Invertebrates (Stackpole Books, 2010), and continue to collect photographs and information on this subject. These days I am especially drawn to galls, leaf mines, and other plant-insect interactions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

