Monthly Mystery #21: Double Cocoons

On pages 219-220 of Tracks & Sign of Insects, I described the cocoon of Neurobathra strigifinitella (Gracillariidae) according to the account of Heinrich and DeGryse (1915)*. I then included a photo of a mysterious cocoon found on the underside of a sugar maple leaf in Nashville, Tennessee, which seemed to be somewhat similar but lacked the pearl-like globules that decorate the cocoon of N. strigifinitella.

DSC_8274

Well, last weekend I collected some N. strigifinitella larvae mining oak leaves on Nantucket, and last night I got to see my first cocoon of this species. It is now clear that the mystery cocoon is nothing like it, nor is it like the cocoon of any other gracillariid moth I have reared.

IMG_4117

This one is less than 8 mm long, not 14 mm as stated by Heinrich and DeGryse. Noah and I found four examples of the mystery cocoons on that sugar maple, ranging from 8 to 12 mm across.

DSC_7879

The example below was overlapping a Phyllonorycter (Gracillariidae) leaf mine and had a thrips running around inside its outer wall. Neither had anything to do with the maker of the cocoon. Curiously, there doesn’t seem to be any entrance hole in the cocoon, and it seems like the thrips may have gotten trapped inside it after chewing its way out of the leaf mine.

DSC_7851

I haven’t found any of these cocoons since that day six years ago (July 4, 2008), but I sure would like to know what they are. It may or may not have been significant that they were on sugar maple leaves. Unfortunately the larvae aren’t visible enough in the photos to even say to what order they belong. I’m starting to wonder whether they might be some obscure type of neuropteran (lacewing or something similar), since those tend to make some variety of double cocoon (e.g this dustywing).

* Heinrich, Carl and J. J. DeGryse. 1915. On Acrocercops strigifinitella Clemens. Proceedings of the Entomological Society of Washington 17:6-23.

About Charley Eiseman

I am a freelance naturalist, endlessly fascinated by the interconnections of all the living and nonliving things around me. I am the lead author of Tracks & Sign of Insects and Other Invertebrates (Stackpole Books, 2010), and continue to collect photographs and information on this subject. These days I am especially drawn to galls, leaf mines, and other plant-insect interactions.
This entry was posted in Unsolved Mysteries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monthly Mystery #21: Double Cocoons

  1. J. W. Eiseman says:

    Charley:

    They are eerie and intriguing. What do they feel like? They remind me of jelly fish, but I assume they feel more like they are made of spider weavings.

    Dad

  2. I found something similar to what’s in these pictures. It was on a rock. I plan to blog it soon and maybe you can identify it.

Leave a Reply

