Halloween Pennant

It’s probably a bit of a cliché to post a picture of a Halloween Pennant (Libellulidae: Celithemis eponina) on Halloween, but I just happened to come across this one while sorting through the photos I took in Florida this past March, so here it is.  I thought the colorful shadow was pretty neat, and was happy that I was able to get a decent shot in spite of the blindingly bright white sand making it impossible to tell how it came out at the time.  This was at St. Sebastian River Preserve State Park.

DSC_8271

About Charley Eiseman

I am a freelance naturalist, endlessly fascinated by the interconnections of all the living and nonliving things around me. I am the lead author of Tracks & Sign of Insects and Other Invertebrates (Stackpole Books, 2010), and continue to collect photographs and information on this subject. These days I am especially drawn to galls, leaf mines, and other plant-insect interactions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Halloween Pennant

  1. Sara Rall says:

    Love the shot, and the timing!

  2. Awesome photo, it almost looks like a painting!

  3. jse says:

    Isn’t it kind of amazing to get a colored shadow? Not sure I’ve ever seen that!

  4. A beautiful, magical shot. I agree, that there must have been some sort of glitch in the veil of ordinary time and space, to get that colored shadow.

  5. jse says:

    Also, on the day after the Red Sox won the World Series, noting a pennant is SO appropriate. ; )

  6. willardw@comcast.net says:

    Thank you, Charley, Happy Halloween to you, too. Amazing reflection in that photo.

    Wendy Willard

  7. Jim's Blog says:

    I’m a bit late to the party, but I had to comment on your delicious image of the colored shadow. Outstanding!

    Jim Fowler, Greenville, SC

Leave a Reply

