Hickory Gall Interlopers

And speaking of beetles associated with galls (which we were, briefly, several weeks ago in my previous post), here’s an odd thing I noticed last May while wandering in the woods of northwestern Connecticut. A lot of the leaves of shagbark hickories (Juglandaceae: Carya ovata) were covered with little round, flattened galls:

Nothing too odd about that; galls like these are a common sight on hickories, and they are caused by aphidlike insects called phylloxerans (Phylloxeridae: Phylloxera spp.). Here’s a larger (7 mm across) gall of a different species that I cut open 14 years ago to get a look at the Phylloxera nymphs within:

The odd thing was that I kept seeing little weevils on the leaves with the galls. I didn’t think much of the first one I saw, but after the second or third weevil, I started to wonder, “What is it with you guys and these galls?” As I wondered this, I had a vague recollection of having seen weevil larvae come out of phylloxera galls at some point. And I wondered if the dark blemishes I kept seeing on these galls had been caused by the weevils I was seeing, maybe chewing holes in which to lay eggs. The one weevil I photographed in the field was certainly doing something to one of the galls:

So naturally, after I ate the sandwich I had brought, I put several gall-laden leaves in my sandwich box along with a few weevils, including a mating pair. At home I got some better photos of the weevils, including this one:

And when trying to get better photos of the galls, it was hard to find any that didn’t have the dark blemishes on them—they were made from the lower surface but the damage was often visible from the upper surface as well.

On May 29, twelve days after I had collected the galls, a couple of squirming, legless weevil larvae appeared in my sandwich box.

The galls, to my surprise, had continued to develop on the detached leaves, and were now nearly spherical in some cases.

Some galls had been visibly munched, presumably by the weevil larvae, although in some cases this may have been from a few caterpillars that had hatched on the collected leaves and were now devouring them.

One of the caterpillars was this little inchworm, which I first noticed on May 19:

By May 27 it looked like this, and was recognizable as the larva of a “half-wing” (Geometridae: Phigalia titea):

There were also a couple of owlet moth caterpillars, which looked like this on May 27:

By May 29 the second one had molted, confirming my suspicion that these were larvae of the “ruby quaker” (Noctuidae: Orthosia rubescens):

Anyway, I moved the weevil larvae to a jar with soil in the bottom for the larvae to burrow into. On June 11, two adult weevils appeared in the jar. One looked much like the ones I’d photographed previously…

…and one was plain black, without the red markings on the elytra.

Knowing what these weevils did for a living, it took only a quick internet search to identify them as Anthonomus suturalis (Curculionidae), which has been a known associate of phylloxera galls since 1866. The account by Gates & Burke (1972)* makes it sound like the munching on the last gall shown above was in fact caused by the caterpillars rather than the weevil larvae: “By the time a larva has completed its development, the tissue of the inner wall of the gall has been consumed. There is no tunneling by the larvae as in cases of some other Anthonomus inquilines; instead, the inner tissue of the galls is rather smoothly gnawed away. The frass resulting from the activities of a larva is packed in one end of the gall.”

It’s just as well that I didn’t discover anything new about these weevils, because evidently no one is willing to review my papers about weevils anymore. I submitted a two-page manuscript on leaf-mining weevils to a journal a full year ago, and another one-page manuscript half a year ago, and I’m still waiting for reviews on both of these. This makes me a bit grumpy since I’ve never taken more than a few weeks to review a manuscript, and I only take that long if the paper is several hundred pages long.

As for my vague recollection of having seen weevil larvae come out of phylloxera galls before, I checked my files, and what I was remembering was actually a single gall on a shagbark hickory catkin that I found on the ground on June 1, 2018, possibly having been nipped off by a squirrel. I didn’t take a picture of the gall until eight days later, when things had started emerging from it; at this point the plant material had all turned brown, but you can still get a general idea of what it looked like:

Two identical weevil larvae emerged from this gall, one on June 5 and one on June 9. They were identical with one another, but looked nothing like the larvae of Anthonomus suturalis pictured above.

Also on June 9, this fly larva appeared in the jar with the gall, apparently having emerged from it along with the weevil larvae. I assume it is one of the hover flies (Syrphidae) that are predators of aphids and other insects.

I put these three larvae, along with the gall, in a jar of soil with the hope of rearing adults, but all that ever emerged—in March of the following year—was this blastobasid moth, which Aaron Hunt identified as Asaphocrita busckiella (which he believes to be a species complex):

I’m not sure if anything is known about the larvae of A. busckiella, but I see that A. aphidiella was reported in 1886 to have been “reared from the larvae feeding on the contents of Phylloxera hickory galls.” Blastobasids are known as “scavenger moths”, and I presume the larva was feeding on the damaged plant tissue and maybe on the weevil larvae’s frass rather than preying on whatever phylloxerans weren’t eaten by the fly larva. As for what kind of weevil the weevil larvae belonged to, I have no idea!

* Gates, Danny B. and Horace R. Burke. 1972. Review of the gall-inhabiting weevils of the genus Anthonomus, with description and biology of a new species (Coleoptera: Curculionidae). Annals of the Entomological Society of America 65(5): 1215-1224.

About Charley Eiseman

I am a freelance naturalist, endlessly fascinated by the interconnections of all the living and nonliving things around me. I am the lead author of Tracks & Sign of Insects and Other Invertebrates (Stackpole Books, 2010), and continue to collect photographs and information on this subject. These days I am especially drawn to galls, leaf mines, and other plant-insect interactions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Hickory Gall Interlopers

  1. willowspring66 says:

    i am in total awe. thank you for all your work and sharing these amazing discoveries! wow

  2. cftebay says:

    I’ve found similar galls on my hickory tree, so appreciate the timely article.

  3. janetwright5am says:

    This couldn’t be more timely! I was just looking at Phylloxera galls on hickory a few days ago and you have suggested answers to some mysteries. Thanks! https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/206717276

    https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/207015630

    https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/207502543

  4. bradley102015 says:

    I wonder if the editor of the journal you submitted your notes to is having difficulty finding a reviewer? What a fabulous story of the diverse group of critters taking advantage of the humble hickory gall. Thanks for a very entertaining diversion from reading my daily email trove.

    • It’s a real mystery what the holdup is, since one of the potential reviewers I suggested to the subject editor many months ago saw this post and immediately emailed me to say he’d be happy to review my papers on leaf-mining weevils!

  5. glanza40 says:

    Charley – if you submitted online you should have received an ‘automatic reply’ from the submission site stating that the manuscript arrived. If not – chances are the manuscript did not arrive and may be languishing out there in the cloud.

    Guy Lanza

  6. Anonymous says:

    Just this past week I finished reading Mischievous Creatures by Catherine McNeur. This is a very thorough biography of Elizabeth and Margareta Morris, sisters who lived in the mid-1800s and devoted their lives to botany and entomology. The sisters would have been delighted to read of your nurturing of the galls and their associated weevils and caterpillars. It was Margareta who described for the first time the life cycle of the periodic cicada, having dug up the nymphs in her orchard. As women, despite their countless careful scientific observations and contributions to the work of a number of well-known male scientists (including Charles Darwin) they rarely were given even a passing mention in science journals of the day and could not become full members of any of the natural history Societies of that time period. If you have the time to read, I recommend this book!

  7. davidgregg504050093 says:

    The Phylloxerans sound like Star Trek villains. Now I know they’re not, so thanks for this interesting post.

    As you know, the Natural History Survey’s bulletin, RI Naturalist, is always looking for content. It isn’t peer reviewed per se and some researchers only want to publish in peer reviewed journals, but we do have genuine scientists review submissions, so if you ever are in need of an outlet, don’t hesitate to be in contact.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Wonderful story, Charley, and beautifully illustrated!

  9. Gordon G. says:

    Charley, you are correct that there is next to nothing known about the A. busckiella larvae. I believe your picture is the only one on the net. I recently caught two adult specimens that are potential first records for Michigan. I dropped them off at MSU yesterday and will hopefully be going to Dr. David Adamski for identification. His first question to me was regarding host plant, as this doesn’t appear to be known. Do you still have the adult? Your efforts may have closed the loop on this moth, if that adult can be confirmed. I was just trying to research how to do all this myself in an effort to ID the larvae and host plant(s).

    • Yes, I still have the specimen. Five years ago I had mentioned it to Dave Adamski and he said he’d prefer to pick it up when he was in western MA rather than have me mail it, but that didn’t end up happening. I’ll check in with him about it now. (Unfortunately none of my photos show the A. busckiella larva; just weevil and syrphid fly larvae.)

      • Anonymous says:

        Ah…I thought the weevil larvae may have been the moth larvae. They look similar to Acorn Moth larvae that are same family. Thank you still for narrowing down my efforts to hickory for this larvae.

Leave a comment