So, anybody recognize what we’re looking at here?

IMG_0431-001

About Charley Eiseman

I am a freelance naturalist, endlessly fascinated by the interconnections of all the living and nonliving things around me. I am the lead author of Tracks & Sign of Insects and Other Invertebrates (Stackpole Books, 2010), and continue to collect photographs and information on this subject. These days I am especially drawn to galls, leaf mines, and other plant-insect interactions.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to So, anybody recognize what we’re looking at here?

  1. lynn says:

    WOW !
    Fantastic photo !
    Absolutely no clue as to what I am looking at .

    Looks like a insect camera tripod ……..or an interesting deposition of eggs, beautiful in their own way.

  2. ophis says:

    I’d be surprised if that were the front end

  3. Joseph DeSisto says:

    Hmm … a breathing apparatus of some kind. Or pheromone release. Definitely posterior. I’d say one of the muscoid fly larvae, perhaps an aquatic or parasitic species.

  4. toadsong says:

    reminds me somewhat of the head of a botfly larva, or some equally evil bug

  5. Nancy Lowe says:

    mouth parts on a leech?

  6. reminds me of a star-nosed mole (perhaps a baby?), but I doubt that’s what the picture is actually showing…

  7. Chip Tynan says:

    Egg laying by ???

    Chip Tynan – Missouri Botanical Garden – Center for Home Gardening – PO Box 299 – St. Louis, MO 63166-0299 (314) 577-9447 – http://www.gardeninghelp.org ________________________________

  8. Wendy Willard says:

    Thanks, Charley, Thanks for the photos and the info. Your fan, Wendy Willard

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  9. Moni says:

    Well, I would guess a fly larvae of some sort…tail end. Could be Tipulid, but that is a wild guess as many other maggots have strange tail ends!

  10. Ellen Zagory says:

    Pheromone receptors? Looks sticky.

Leave a Reply

