Arizona Oak Galls, Part 4

Here is yet another type of gall found on the underside of oak leaves in Madera Canyon.

IMG_7481

Seven weeks after I collected these, two parasitoids emerged.

IMG_0067

The one above is another male Torymus (Torymidae), which may or may not be the same as the one in my last post.  The one below is a male Brasema (Eupelmidae), and according to Gary Gibson, probably can’t be identified beyond that–both because it is a male and because the genus is in serious need of revision.

IMG_0073 IMG_0077

Nearly four months later, two adult cynipids emerged.

IMG_2563 IMG_2573 IMG_2589

In the meantime another male Torymus had emerged.  Another month passed, and a female T. tubicola emerged.

IMG_7335

Finally, after another 3+ months, I noticed a different, tiny cynipid in the vial.

IMG_8609

I believe it came from the little cup-shaped gall that was also on the leaf.  Apparently I hadn’t noticed that gall before, or didn’t think it was viable.

IMG_8625

It is evidently different from gall #2, being fuzzy and lacking the “saucer.”

IMG_8622

I think the host might be Quercus grisea rather than Q. arizonica in this case?

DSC_5517 DSC_5518

About Charley Eiseman

I am a freelance naturalist, endlessly fascinated by the interconnections of all the living and nonliving things around me. I am the lead author of Tracks & Sign of Insects and Other Invertebrates (Stackpole Books, 2010), and continue to collect photographs and information on this subject. These days I am especially drawn to galls, leaf mines, and other plant-insect interactions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Arizona Oak Galls, Part 4

  1. Josh C'deBaca says:

    Again I’m pretty late to this and you may already know this, but the adult you got from the cup-shaped gall is an inquiline likely in the family Synergini. The gall looks like Phylloteras cupella, and the inducers for that species would all be wingless females, similar to Acraspis. Great pics of all of this stuff!

Leave a comment